Update

First of all, thank you to those of you who took the time to read my (SUPER long) post about my birthing experience. I really appreciated the likes & follows I received afterwards. You’re all strangers to me, as I am writing this blog anonymously for now. I was totally blown away by your interest and kindness. And, I’d like to apologize for my typos and misspelled words. I have tried to go back and edit, but I get very emotional (both good & bad emotions); I will revisit it later, but for now, I am going to let it sit and keep writing on about other parts of my motherhood journey.

Someday, I think I will be writing openly, not anonymously; but for now, I’m just not ready to have my story “out there” in the whole realm of all my social circles. But I am thankful that you’re here, reading what I have to say. Once again, Thanks!

It felt so therapeutic writing the whole experience out. I was sobbing through several of those paragraphs, but afterwards, I felt like a huge weight had been lifted. The next evening, after I hit that “Publish” button, I was out getting my hair cut and styled. The hair stylist, upon talking about our children, asked me how my labour and delivery went. I felt way more relaxed than ever before as I was talking about some of the details. It also helped talking to another mother, as she had a ridiculously long labour, too. We were even able to laugh and marvel at the amazing feats our bodies went through! It is comforting to think how I am still healing and growing emotionally and mentally, but now able to be able to talk about it more openly.

Early this week, I met up with an old friend who has a one-and-a-half-year old & is also expecting her second child. This friend expressed to me that she still doesn’t feel as though she has recovered fully from her first birth. She told me that she has her physio therapist on speed dial, as she’s struggling with sciatica and muscle & joint soreness already. It was a great reminder that it really is a huge process, not just birthing a baby, but recovery.

It was nice to talk to these moms. As I am growing and learning as a mother who is still in recovery from giving birth, being within a community of other new mother’s who just “get me” is wondrous.

I know I am moving onwards and upwards towards bigger and better things. Each passing day, week, month with my daughter just keeps getting better. I am healing remarkably well, but more importantly, my little one keeps hitting milestones, growing and really becoming her own person. She has brought so much joy to mine and my husband’s lives.

20170329_123003.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

